Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Mechanical Engineering: Finding a Book on the Shelf

Where is my book shelved in the library?

Once you find the book you want in the catalog, how do you find it in the library?   

Start by looking at the catalog record.  Under the title and author information, you'll see the which campus library (McNichols or Dental) has the book

If the location is the UDM Dental Library, you can fill out an interlibrary loan form to have it delivered to the McNichols Campus Library, which usually takes less than a week.  

If the location is the UDM McNichols Library, look at the shelving location.

If the book is in the stacks, look at the call number...

and then check the stack directory to find out where it is located.

If it is in a different shelving location, check the library directory to determine its location.

McN Campus Library Directory

Collection (Shelving Location) Floor
  • Reference and Ready Reference
  • Career Collection
  • Video and DVD Collection
  • Reserves (Check Out Desk)
  • Microfiche and Microfilm
  • Michigan Core Collection (Ask at the Research Desk)
  • Archives (Ask at the Research Desk
  • Scanners, printers, binding
Main Level
  • Government Documents
  • Theses and Dissertations
  • Oversize Books
Lower Level
  • Architecture (NA call numbers)
  • Juvenile Collection
  • K-12 Collection

2nd Floor--                  Bargman Room

  • STACKS
    • Call numbers A - BR 62
    • BR 63 - HA 203
    • HA 204 - Z
  • .
  • 2A
  • 2nd Floor
  • Lower Level

 

Getting Books from Other Libraries

If UDM does not have online access or a print copy of the article you need, you can order it through interlibrary loan.  Make sure to plan ahead, though, since it may take 1-2 weeks to arrive from another library.  

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian via:

  • Chat offers 24/7 help from UDM or other AJCU university librarians
  • Email is usually answered within one business day.