Guides: Nursing: Doctor of Nursing Practice

(image AI generated)

Page contains:

links to program ebooks
recommended nursing literature, business, and informatics databases for DNPs
recommendations for legislative resources
instructions on locating nursing-specific literaure
Instructions on how to find full articles from a database reference
Librarian contact information

New eBooks for 2025-2026

2025 Nurse's Drug Handbook

*Single user ebook

Advanced Practice Nursing Procedures

*Single user ebook

Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests

*Single user ebook

Related Guides

Check out these other subject guides:

DNP Project Resources Guide
Guide contains ebooks on designing, structuring, and writing your project; a link to Detroit Mercy's digital project repository; links to other DNP project repositories - useful for sparking ideas.

Graduate Writing and Posters
by Jill Turner Last Updated Sep 3, 2025 842 views this year
Help: Databases, Citing, Plagiarism, Copyright, MS Word, and Other Library Resources
by Jill Turner Last Updated Sep 4, 2025 560 views this year
Image Resources
by Jill Turner Last Updated Aug 7, 2025 56 views this year

Databases for DNP's

Evidence-based Practice Literature:

CINAHL Ultimate
A research tool for nursing and allied health professionals and students. Full text for more than 1200 journals and indexing for another 5000 journals.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Scopus
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Health, Medicine, & Nursing Databases [ProQuest]
Searches the following ProQuest databases simultaneously: Consumer Health; Health & Medical Collection; Healthcare Administration; Nursing & Allied Health Premium; Public Health. Covers medical science, nursing, allied health, public health and pharmacology with full text scholarly journals, magazines, trade journals,books, reports, working papers, conference & proceedings, news and more.

Business and Informatics Databases:

CINAHL Ultimate
Business CINAHL Headings terms: (MH "Economics+") (includes compensation, cost analysis, financial management, health care costs, and more); (MH "Business+") (includes health facility business ventures, marketing, mergers and acquisitions, and more)
Healthcare Administration Database [ProQuest ]
Healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics, Public health administration. Coverage for around 800 key journals with over 4,500 Doctoral Dissertations and Theses.

PubMed
Business MeSH terms: "Commerce"[Mesh] (will include topics like Entrepreneurship, Marketing, Public-Private Sector Partnerships, Small Business); "Health Care Sector"[Mesh]; "Economics"[Mesh] (will include compensation, cost analysis, financial management, health care costs, and more)

Legislative Resources:

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Search for bills and other legislative activities.
Michigan Legislature
Legislative activities of Michigan. Search for bills and laws.

Need Nursing-specific literature?

The handout demonstrates how to set database limits to retrieve article citations from Nursing journals.

Nursing-specific literature also includes articles authored by nurses. The best way to determine nurse authorship is to search or verify author affiliation - look for Colleges or Departments of Nursing. Both PubMed and CINAHL can search the Affiliation field; search using the term nursing.