Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choose one of the databases to search for full text articles on your topic. For off-campus access, log in with your Blackboard username and password.
Literary Journals and Magazines Available Online in the Collection
Here are links to some of the literary periodicals available electronically through the McNichols Campus Library's collection. The list is not exhaustive, so if there is a magazine or journal you are interested in that is not linked here, please try searching the eJournal Finder in the box below, the catalog, or contact the Librarian listed on the right side of the page.
Arts & Humanities Database
Provides scholarly peer-reviewed journals in the arts, literature, ethnic and cultural studies, women's studies and other areas of the humanities.
Black Thought and Culture
Contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African American authors. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Black Women Writers
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
Humanities Source [Ebsco]
Full text of over 1,400 journals in classical studies, literature, history, linguistics, performing arts, religion & theology
Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green check mark.
Wiley Online Library
Offers full text, scholarly peer reviewed journals with a collection of journals in the humanities. Full text articles are available for titles preceded by an open padlock icon.
[sic] Student Arts Jounral
[sic] was established in 1992 and is published annually. The journal is edited and designed by students and features photography, fine art, poetry, fiction, and prose. Its mission: giving voice and vision to UDM’s exceptionally creative student body.
Academic Search Complete [Ebsco]
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
Provides access to around 200 alternative and grassroots and independent press publications. Includes The American Spectator, the Fifth Estate, the New American, The Village Voice, and many others.
America's News Magazines
This is a full-text collection of 23 large circulation popular news and general interest magazines, covering fields of business, entertainment, lifestyle, news, science & technology, and sports. Coverage goes back to at least 2002, and in some titles as early as 1985. Titles include: Newsweek (1991-date), Slate (1996-date), The New Yorker (2012-date) and Foreign Affairs (1994-date). Articles are TEXT ONLY; accompanying illustrations are not displayed.
Art and Architecture Complete (Ebsco)
Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 380 periodicals and 230 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.
Full text articles from the Detroit News starting from 1999. Accompanying photos are not available.
Michigan Newspapers (Newsbank)
Full text of 90 Michigan newspapers, including January 1999-date of the Detroit News, July 200-date of the Grand Rapids Press, and July 2006-date of the Michigan Chronicle. Links from this page lead to a wide selection of regional, national and international newspapers.
OmniFile Full Text
Includes full text from over 2,700 journals, representing all of the full text materials from eleven key Wilson databases. Coverage extends from 1994-date.
Simultaneously searches 12 different ProQuest databases. Includes access to the Detroit Free Press starting in 1999, and the New York Times Book Review.
Electronic Journal Finder
Use this link to search for full text journals within the library databases. Search by journal title or ISSN.
How to Search for Articles Using Library Resources