Mechanical Engineering: New Books 2019-20

(Print book) Journalist Adam Higginbotham's definitive, years-in-the-making account of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster--and a powerful investigation into how propaganda, secrecy, and myth have obscured the true story of one of the twentieth century's greatest disasters.

Moves readers from conceptual explorations of oppression and justice to a theoretical framework that allows for the concepts to be applied and implemented in a variety of practical contexts.

Addresses traditional engineering topics, real-world issues like creative thinking, synthesis of ideas, visualization, teamwork, sense of customer needs and product success factors, and the financial aspects of design alternatives.

Provides a hands-on tool for design professionals and students who wish to use design to counteract social issues

Presents the voices of a number of multidiscplinary scholars to explore the important ways that race and gender intersect within the complex structural dynamics of STEM. p;

Examines human factors, ergonomics, and safety issues related to the design of products, processes, and systems, as well as operation and management of business enterprises in contemporary industry

An essential all-in-one introduction, Ethics for Engineers provides in-depth coverage of major ethical theories, professional codes of ethics, and case studies in a single volume.

Analyzes modern HVAC topics including sustainability, IAQ, water treatment and risk management, vibration and noise mitigation, and maintainability from a practical point of view.

Explores innovative trends that lead to improved performance, safety and efficiency. includes green energy alternatives, new sensor technologies and advanced computer processors that redefine the nature of driving.

Provides a solid grounding in the mathematics and scientific principles, particularly calculus and algebra, which underpin powertrain technology.

Covers the entire design-to-manufacture process, reflecting the industry trend to further integrate CAD and CAM into a single, unified process. It also updates the computer aided design theory and methods in modern manufacturing systems and examines the most advanced computer-aided tools used in digital manufacturing.

Combining statics, dynamics, vibrations, and strength of materials in one volume, the book offers a practical reference for engineering design

Teaches heat engine fundamentals as well as advanced topics Includes comprehensive thermodynamic and thermochemistry data

The objective of the International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE) Systems Engineering Handbook is to describe key process activities performed by systems engineers and professionals throughout the life cycle of a system.

Presents various methods and models for forming processes (including stamping, hydroforming and additive manufacturing) that can enable a reduction in the duration of the product development cycle, optimization of product development procedures, and ultimately improvement in the productivity of design and manufacturing phases.

This well-illustrated handbook covers the basic function, performance, and applications for the most widely used pump and compressor types available on the market today.