Mechanical Engineering: New Books 2021-22

Transcends local and global barriers to cover the integration of research, education, and manufacturing in advanced materials processing and characterization, including CAD-CAM, Finite Element Analysis (FEA), and smart manufacturing

Reports on a groundbreaking moral psychology experiment, an interactive website that allowed people to make choices with detailed accident scenarios to capture what people think driverless cars should do in situations where not everyone can be saved.

Focuses on practical applications knowledge, with numerous real-world examples, practice problems, and case studies throughout. Also Covers topics required for the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam.

Drawing on extensive interviews, archival research, and fieldwork, Smith explores how engineers in the mining and oil industries reconcile competing domains of accountability, including formal guidelines, standards, and policies; to professional ideals; to the public; and to themselves.

Examines the transition from internal combustion engines to gas-powered cars, including major societal concerns, economic rationales, governmental policies and corporate strategies in various countries.

A comprehensive treatment of the advanced microscopic properties of lithium- and sodium-based batteries. Focuses on the development of the quasiparticle framework and the successful syntheses of cathode/electrolyte/anode materials in these batteries.

Comprehensive review of the principles and concepts of automotive manufacturing from development to applications. Includes illustrations, end-of-chapter review questions, in-depth case studies, literature reviews, and course projects.

Presents a wide spectrum of prototyping tools and state-of-the-art additive manufacturing technologies and includes real world examples showing how they are used in product development.

Takes a holistic approach to solving complex engineering design challenges by outlining a collaborative approach to the engineering design process, producing more innovative and improved results.

Covers how to apply engineering graphics concepts, such as part prints, section views, assembly drawings, tolerancing and fasteners. It also extends these topics into the world of designeaches you how to model parts and their configurations, create part prints and assembly drawings. Also teaches concepts such as FEA, tolerancing, and parametric design. Includes instructional videos showing how to complete each problem.

Reveals the human biases, misunderstandings, and deceptions that undermine published scientific results, including failures in peer review, exaggerated results and mistakes in statistics. Suggest reforms that could make science more trustworthy.

This handbook includes over 60 chapters covering a broad range of facilities and topics, and is written to help engineers design and use equipment and systems described in other Handbook volumes. Each chapter includes current requirements, technology, and design practice.

Includes current data on concrete and masonry construction equipment costs, city and location factors, square foot costs, and unit prices.

A comprehensive collection of costs designed for everything from detailing large scopes of work to conceptually estimating smaller ones.