Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ethics (National Society of Professional Engineers)
The NSPE's website includes their Code of Ethics,
summaries of ethics cases adjudicated by the Board of Ethical Review, monthly, fee-based ethics webinars, and an exam to review professional engineering ethics.
Engineering Ethics (ASME)
The ASME website includes articles on engineering ethics, an online ethics course, and the society's ethics policy
Online Ethics Center
Managed by the National Academy of Engineering's Center for Engineering Ethics and Society, this website includes a glossary of engineering ethics terms, case studies for use in classroom discussions, and teaching tools such as syllabi and sample assignments.
Ethics in Science National Clearinghouse (ESENCe)
This website was a beta site for a national digital library for ethics in science and engineering. It includes documents meant to fulfill a requirement to train undergraduate students, graduate students and postdocs in research ethics. (Scroll down for full text documents)
Books on Engineering Ethics
Ethics for Engineering (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2021
Using case studies to highlight examples of issues within the workplace and how these can be appropriately handled, this book touches upon safety, risk, artificial intelligence, autonomous systems, and intellectual property, alongside sustainability and environmental matters.
Next-Generation Ethics by
Call Number: BJ 59 .N495 2020
Publication Date: 2019
This collection of essays by prominent academics and technology leaders covers important ethical questions arising in modern industry, offering guidance on how to approach these dilemmas. Chapters discuss what we can learn from the ethical lapses of #MeToo, Volkswagen, and Cambridge Analytica, and highlight the common need across all applications for sound decision-making and understanding the implications for stakeholders.
Energy Justice Across Borders (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2020
Unites he fields of energy justice and comparative philosophy to provide an overarching global perspective and approach to applying energy ethics. We contribute to this purpose in four sections: setting the scene, practice, applying theory to practice, and theoretical approaches.
Global Engineering Ethics (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2017
Takes a global-values approach to engineering ethics rather than prioritizing any one national or regional culture. Uses engineering case studies to explain ethical issues and principles in relatable, practical contexts Approaches engineering from a business perspective, emphasizing the extent to which engineering occurs in terms of profit-driven markets, addressing potential conflicts that arise as a result Provides extensive guidance on how to carry out ethical analysis by using case studies, to practice addressing and thinking through issues before confronting them in the world
Engineering Ethics: Real World Case Studies (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2017
Organized by the canons of the ASCE Code of Ethics this book analyzes case studies that are based on real work situations, including concepts such as rights and obligations; conflict of interest; professionalism and mentoring; confidentiality; whistleblowing; bribery, fraud, and corruption; and ethical communication with the public in a social media world are discussed in practical and approachable terms. Organized by the canons of the ASCE Code of Ethics, this book is intended for practitioners, consultants, government engineers, engineering educators, and students in all engineering disciplines.
Engineering, Social Justice, and Sustainable Community Development by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2010
This book summarizes the first in a series of biennial workshops on the theme of engineering ethics and engineering leadership. This workshop addresses conflicting positive goals for engineering projects in impoverished areas and areas in crisis. The goals of project sponsors and participants, which are often implicit, include protecting human welfare, ensuring social justice, and striving for environmental sustainability alongside the more often explicit goal of economic development or progress.
Engineering Peace and Justice by
Call Number: TA 157 .V47 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"This book details the history of the engineering profession, including its ethical commitment to the public good, and it shows how engineers have, in the past, served their clients as either military or civilian engineers. The book also examines concepts of ethical engineering, including the engineer’s duty to society; engineering’s relationship to war and peace; and the engineer’s commitment to the environment. The final section details some stories of contemporary engineers who have used their technical skills in the promotion of peace, becoming "peace engineers"."
Engineering Education and Practice by
Call Number: T 73 .E447 2012
Publication Date: 2011
This collection of essays explores how major themes of Catholic social teaching--respect for the environment, sustainability, technological design, and service to the poor--all positively affect engineering curricula, students, and faculty. Authors discuss special fieldwork courses that offer hands-on service-learning opportunities that can reinforce ethical and religious themes.
Emerging Military Technologies by
Call Number: UF 503 .W66 2013
Publication Date: 2012
This book examines emerging defense technologies such as directed energy weapons, nanotech devices, and bioscience applications that have the potential to dominate international relations in the future, just as nuclear weapons and space infrastructure-assisted conventional weapons do now.
Lessons amid the Rubble by
Call Number: TA 656 .P488 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Pfatteicher examines the collapse of the World Trade Center buildings and draws on historical and current practice in engineering design, construction, and curricula to discuss how engineers should conceive, organize, and execute a search for the reasons behind the failure of man-made structures. Pfatteicher also explores six related events to reveal simple lessons about the engineering enterprise, each of which embodies an ethical dilemma at the heart of the profession.She ties these themes together to highlight issues of professionalism and professional identity infused in engineering education and encourages an explicit, direct conversation about their meaning.