Skip to main content
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Mechanical Engineering: Professional Associations

Professional Engineering Associations.

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE): The SAE includes engineers, businessmen and students who share ideas and information to advance the engineering of self-propelled vehicles. The SAE website includes information on scholarships and internships, conferences and symposia, design competitions, certification programs, fee-based online courses, videotaped courses, and online forums.

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers: ASHRAE develops and provides technical information, guidelines, and standards, and it provides for the professional and educational development of HVAC professionals. The ASHRAE website includes homeland security information, mold information, indexes to ASHRAE information going back to 1895, self-directed continuing education courses, research proposals up for bid, and standards. The site also includes research proposals up for bid, a product and services directory, and a student zone with information about scholarships and design competitions. .

American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE): The ASEE is a society of academic administrators, professors, and teachers that promotes the improvement of engineering education.  The site includes profiles of U.S. and Canadian engineering programs, fellowships and internships, scholarships, grants, and funding resources.  It also includes information on engineering careers and related jobs.

Engineering Society of Detroit (ESD): The ESD is a multidisciplinary engineering and scientific society that promotes professional development, technology, engineering and science professions, and positive contributions to society. The ESD website includes licensure information and courses, monthly networking events, competitions and awards, career expos with potential employers, and free job postings.

National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals (NOGLSTP): NOGLSTP endeavors to education communities and "empower lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics by providing education, advocacy, professional development, networking, and peer support."

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE):The NSBE is a student-managed organization that supports Black engineering students’ academic and professional development and promotes positive involvement in the community. The NSBE website includes community service programs and opportunities, tutoring and mentoring programs, scholarships, and a free career center where you can search and apply for jobs.

Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (oSTEM): "oSTEM empowers LGBTQ people in STEM to succeed personally, academically, and professionally by cultivating environments and communities that nurture innovation, leadership, and advocacy."

Society of Women Engineers (SWE): The SWE is a nonprofit organization that promotes engineering as a career choice for women. This site includes scholarships, career advice articles, links to information about issues that women face in the workplace, online seminars, and a career center where you can search for and apply for job openings.

Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society: TBP is a national, invitation-only honor society of engineers who are high academic achievers and have shown exemplary character. TBP sponsors many scholarships and fellowships.

ASME

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME): The ASME promotes and develops education, technology, research, and standards in mechanical engineering.  This comprehensive site includes information on:

  • government policies,
  • ASME position statements,
  • the history of mechanical engineering,
  • diversity and outreach programs
  • accreditation
  • certification and
  • Engineering Without Borders.

It also features in-depth articles, videos, and discussions on many engineering topics, including automotive technology, manufacturing, mechatronics, robotics, and engineering ethics. 

SME

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME): The SME provides resources for professionals and companies to develop nad improve knowledge, skills, and manufacturing solutions.  The SME website includes: