Mechanical Engineering: Hot Topics

AutoLISP is the key to customizing and personalizing programs built on the AutoCAD platform AutoCAD,nbsp;Civil 3D, Plant 3D, and more. AutoCAD Platform Customization: AutoLISP provides real-world examples that show you how to do everything from modifying graphical objects and reading and setting system variables to communicating with external programs.

Engineering Graphics Essentials with AutoCAD 2014 Instruction gives students a basic understanding of how to create and read engineering drawings by presenting principles in a logical and easy to understand manner.

This book provides students with all the tools needed to get to grips with the range of both Computer-aided design (CAD) software and rapid prototyping (RP) processes used in the product design industry. Presented in a visually engaging format, this book is packed with case study examples from contemporary product designers, as well as screen shots, CAD models, and images of rapid prototypes highlighting the design process.

This succinct book focuses on computer aided design (CAD), 3-D modeling, and engineering analysis and the ways they can be applied effectively in research and industrial sectors including aerospace, defense, automotive, and consumer products.

The perfect reference for all AutoCAD users AutoCAD 2015 and AutoCAD LT 2015 Bible is the book you want to have close at hand to answer those day-to-day questions about this industry-leading software.

Presents the fundamentals of tool design with special focus on jigs, fixtures and die design. Includes sections on sheet metal forming processes; turning, grinding, broaching, welding and modular fixtures; principles of clamping; and an Introduction to Presses and Auxiliary Equipment .

Machinability of Advanced Materials addresses the level of difficulty involved in machining a material, or multiple materials, with the appropriate tooling and cutting parameters.  This book discusses a variety of factors including tool life rate, cutting forces and power consumption, surface integrity, limiting rate of metal removal, and chip shape.

For more than 100 years, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world. It is universally acknowledged as an extraordinarily authoritative, comprehensive, and practical tool, providing its users with the most fundamental and essential aspects of sophisticated manufacturing practice.

Manufacturing Process Selection Handbook provides engineers and designers with process knowledge and the essential technological and cost data to guide the selection of manufacturing processes early in the product development cycle.

Covers the basics of metal fabrication, delving deep into the technology of metals fabrication. Topics include: primary mill fabrication, casting, bulk deformation, forming, machining, heat treatment, finishing and coating, and powder metallurgy.

A collection of peer-reviewed papers covering engineering materials, manufacture and production, robotics, automation and control, environment-friendly design and manufacture, web/internet technologies, artificial intelligence and smart computing in design and manufacture, enterprise, management, and other related topics.

Provides a comprehensive description for machining technologies of stainless steels and super alloys with consideration to current industrial applications.

Presents new developments on machine tool vibration control based on discontinuous dynamical systems Machining instability is a topical area, and there are a wide range of publications that cover the topic.

Thoroughly revised, this book provides the reader with an understanding of the principles and practices of testing and balancing (TAB) heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC) air and water systems.

Comprehensively describes the equipment used in process steam systems, good operational and maintenance practices, and techniques used to troubleshoot system problems

In-depth, practical details on geothermal HVAC systems This definitive guide covers commercial and residential geothermal heating, ventilation, and air conditioning technologies and explains how to take advantage of their money- and energy-saving features.

The Intuitive Guide to Energy Efficiency and Building Improvements Energy Audits and Improvements for Commercial Buildings provides a comprehensive guide to delivering deep and measurable energy savings and carbon emission reductions in buildings.

This authoritative guide provides a basis for understanding the emerging technology of ground source heating and cooling. It equips engineers, geologists, architects, planners and regulators with the fundamental skills needed to manipulate the ground's huge capacity to store, supply and receive heat, and to implement technologies to exploit that capacity for space heating and cooling.

This new edition has been revised to include new information on the underlying theory of heat pipes and heat transfer, and features fully updated applications, new data sections, and updated chapters on design and electronics cooling.

Renewable energy sources can be variable and intermittent. As use of renewable energy expands dramatically, balancing measures will be needed to deal with that variability.

Our Energy Future is an introductory textbook for the study of energy production, alternative and renewable fuels, and ways to build a sustainable energy future.

Presents an overview on the different aspects of the energy value chain and discusses the issues that future energy is facing This book covers energy and the energy policy choices which face society.

An up-to-date and two volume overview of recent developments in the field of chemocatalytic and enzymatic processes for the transformation of renewable material into essential chemicals and fuels.

Covers all the key areas of wind resource assessment technologies from an engineer's perspective Addresses all aspects from atmospheric boundary layer characteristics, to wind resource measurement systems, uncertainties in measurements, computations and analyses, to plant performance

The shortage of energy in rural areas and the pollution of the environment from animal wastes due to lack of appropriate technology in Africa motivated the author to conduct research and write this book. I

Over the past few decades, the vexing problems of climate change and finite resources have ignited contentious global debates about alternative energy technologies. In this lucid, balanced book, Rody Johnson investigates the development and deployment of one such technology - wind power - and, in particular, the ways in which a heated battle over that energy source played out in an Appalachian community.

In this book, Hod Lipson and Melba Kurman offer readers insight into the risks and benefits of driverless cars and a lucid and engaging explanation of the enabling technology.

Experts from Germany and the United States define key societal, engineering, and mobility issues related to the automation of vehicles. They discuss the decisions programmers of automated vehicles must make to enable vehicles to perceive their environment, interact with other road users, and choose actions that may have ethical consequences.

imulation and comparison studies are carried out to demonstrate the effectiveness and efficiency of the proposed methodologies that concurrently performs collision-free navigation and mapping of an autonomous robot.

This technical book presents outcomes from the NATO Advanced Study Institute (ASI) 'Advanced Autonomous Vehicle Design for Severe Environments', held in Coventry, UK, in July 2014.

This report is intended as a guide for state and federal policymakers on the many issues that "self -driving: technology raises.