Skip to main content
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Shared Governance at Detroit Mercy: McNichols Faculty Assembly (MFA)

McNichols Faculty Assembly (MFA)

As stated in the “Joint Policy Statement on a Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Framework” adopted by the university’s Board of Trustees and the UDMPU, “The faculty has primary responsibility for such fundamental areas as curriculum, subject matter and methods of instruction, research, faculty status (everything except hiring and firing decisions), promotion and tenure process, and academic/program standards, and with shared responsibility for supporting those procedures for admission of students and other aspects of university life that relate to the educational process.” The MFA serves as the representative body of the McNichols faculty in shared governance and is an organized structure through which the McNichols faculty has exercised meaningful decision-making responsibility on fundamental academic issues, developed innovative faculty ideas, and engaged in discussions regarding areas of common concern.

Current MFA Agenda

MFA Fall 2019 Meeting Dates

All meetings take place in C&F 139 from 12:45pm to 2:00pm.

        Thursday, September 5, 2019

        Thursday, September 19, 2019

Thursday, October 3, 2019

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Thursday, December 19, 2019

 

 

 

MFA Winter 2020 Meeting Dates

All meetings take place in C&F 139 from 12:45pm to 2:00pm.

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Thursday, February 6, 2020

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Thursday, March 19, 2020

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Thursday, April 16, 2020