Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Shared Governance at Detroit Mercy: MFA Roster

MFA Structure

  • Each college/school/libraries will have at least two representatives. In addition, those units with more than 20 full-time faculty will receive one additional representative for every additional 10 such faculty. (For example, a school with 1-20 full-time faculty has two elected representatives; a school with 21-30 full-time faculty has three elected representatives; a school with 31-46 full-time faculty has four elected representatives, etc.)
  • The size of the MFA will fluctuate with both the increase and decrease in the full-time faculty within the colleges/schools/libraries. By the end of January of each year, the MFA will verify the number of full-time faculty within the colleges/schools/or libraries and adjust the MFA representation as required. MFA representatives are elected by votes of the full-time faculty within their respective school/college/libraries.
  • For these purposes, full-time faculty include faculty on phased retirement that are considered full-time. (Shared Governance Final Modification, p.26)

MFA Executive Committee

The MFA develops its own internal organizational structure, including electing from among its members five officers: President, Vice President, Secretary, Parliamentarian, and Communications Officer. The officers function collectively as an Executive Committee and a liaison on behalf of the MFA to the university administration.


Terms expire 2023

President - Jennifer Bowen (LIB)
Vice President - Nadine Wodwaski (CHP)
Secretary - Utayba Mohammad (CES)
Communications Officer - Thomas Fockler (CHP)
Parliamentarian - Greg Grobis (CLAE)

MFA Representatives to the Board of Trustees Academic Affairs Committee

Terms expire 2023

President - Jennifer Bowen
Vice President - Nadine Wodwaski

MFA Elections Committee

Nadine Wodwaski, Vice President (MSON) - Ex Officio

Renee Courtney (MSON)

Marlene Shaw-Gallagher (Physician Assistant)

MFA Roster

School of Architecture and Community Development

James Leach (term expires 2023)* - Lead Representative
Kris Nelson (term expires 2024)

College of Business Administration

Fang Yang (term expires 2023)*
Wonseok Choi (term expires 2024)* - Lead Representative

College of Engineering and Science

Mara Livezey (Chemistry) (term expires 2023)*
Nicol Najor (Biology) (term expires 2023)
Stokes Baker (Biology) (term expires 2024)
Greg Grabowski (Biology) (term expires 2024)*
Utayba Mohammad (Electrical Engineering) (term expires 2024) - Lead Representative

College of Health Professions

Renee Courtney (MSON) (term expires 2023) - Lead Representative
Thomas Fockler (Health Service Administration) (term expires 2023)
Nadine Wodwaski (MSON) (term expires 2023)*
Kimberly Moner (MSON) (term expires 2024)
Marlene Shaw-Gallagher (PA) (term expires 2024)

College of Liberal Arts and Education

Nickolas Davis (Social Work) (term expires 2023)
Mary-Catherine Harrison (English) (term expires 2023)*
Hsiao-Lan Hu (Religious Studies) (term expires 2023)*
Greg Grobis (Theater) (term expires 2024)*
OPEN (term expires 2024)
Miao Qian (Psychology) (term expires 2024)


Sandra Wilson (term expires 2023)* - Lead Representative
Jennifer Bowen (term expires 2024)*

*Served two terms. Ineligible to serve a third term.